CYNGOR SIR POWYS COUNTY COUNCIL

Standards Committee 17 November 2022

REPORT BY: Head of Legal and Monitoring Officer

SUBJECT: Appointments to the Standards Community Sub-

Committee

REPORT FOR: Decision

1. Appointments to the Standards Community Sub-Committee

- 1.1 The Town and Community Council elections in May 2022 brought to a close the term of office for Town and Community Councillors sitting on the Standards Community Sub-Committee. A postal election (nominations followed by ballot) was held to elect three Town and Community Councillors one each to represent Brecknockshire, Montgomeryshire and Radnorshire for the new term of office.
- 1.2 Accordingly the successful candidates are:

Brecknockshire - Councillor Hugh Pattrick (Ystradfellte Community Council) Montgomeryshire - Councillor Richard White (Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council)

Radnorshire - Councillor Nigel Dodman (New Radnor Community Council).

- 1.3 The function of making the formal appointments to the Sub-Committee has been delegated to the Standards Committee and accordingly the Committee is requested to formally appoint the new Sub-Committee to comprise the 5 Independent Members; the 3 Community Councillors referred to above and one of the County Councillors sitting on the main Committee.
- 1.4 The term of office to be served by the councillors appointed to the Sub-Committee will be the maximum term permitted by Regulations. Currently this is 5 years until May 2027. The term of office to be served by the Independent [Lay] Members will be for the remainder of their terms of office as Independent Members on the Standards Committee.

RECOMMENDED:	
1. That the Standards Community Sub- Committee comprise the undermentioned 9 Members:	To constitute the Standards Community Sub-Committee.
(i) All 5 Independent (Lay) Members of the Standards Committee.	

- (ii) a County Councillor to be nominated by the Standards Committee.
- (iii) Town Councillor Hugh Pattrick (Ystradfellte Community Council) – elected by the Town and Community Councils in Brecknockshire.
- (iv) Community Councillor Richard White (Newtown and Llanllwchaiarn Town Council) – elected by the Town and Community Councils in Montgomeryshire.
- (v) Town Councillor Nigel Dodman (New Radnor Community Council) – elected by the Town and Community Councils in Radnorshire.
- 2. That the terms of office of the 5 Independent (Lay) Members be for the remainder of their terms of office as Independent Members on the main Standards Committee.
- 3. That the terms of office of the County Councillor and Town and Community Councillors be for the maximum term permitted by the existing regulations or by any amending regulations (currently a maximum of five years) or until they cease to be Councillors or resign whichever shall first occur.

Contact Officer Name:	Tel:	Fax:	Email:
Clive Pinney – Head of	01597 826746	01597 826220	clive.pinney@powys.gov.
Legal and Monitoring			<u>uk</u>
Officer			